top of page
Search
Writer's pictureArtsySuzie

Quarantine Theatre: National Theatre at Home: The Barber Shop Chronicles

Updated: Aug 21, 2021



I loved seeing this production live - the film version loses some of the close up intimacy of the stage version, and I'm sure the one I saw had more jokes. But this is a joyous play - simply men talking, brown and black men talking, showing a range of emotions and resolving issues of identity, belonging, the hurts of past and present in barber's shops around the world.

I don't have more words, because it's so beautiful, uplifting and positive. There are a range of emotions, and a range of views and men of all ages and backgrounds talk to, listen to and mentor each other. There are also the tunes and the dancing! In the stage version I saw, I felt that the relationships were more developed and the ending more emotionally powerful, but perhaps the camera gets in the way a bit and creates some distance that isn't there in the stage. There are also jokes!

Catch it while you can!


2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page