top of page
Search
Writer's pictureArtsySuzie

Whose Culture Matters? A Cultural Zeitgeist Moment and I Don't Know What To Think...

Updated: Aug 21, 2021


I don't know what to think about the Colston statue or it's dumping in the harbour. I don't know what to think about the cultural impact of the protests at a time of ignored two metre distancing, gathering of definitely more than six at a time and multiple households, of adapting or defacing of monuments and statues, of aggression towards the police and on social media, the hurling of what looks like lumps of stone at them, yelling down and stigmatising anyone who disagrees. And yet I don't disagree with the ongoing pain, frustration, hurt, racism, prejudice, unfair treatment, poor life experiences, Windrush for crying out loud of those genuinely protesting - just the means and at this time...

I can't help but continue to see the elders and the vulnerable that we're meant to be doing this whole lockdown for. We've virtually imprisoned some of them, for their own good in care homes or abandoned them to their fate, whilst we ignore the rules meant to keep them safe and protest? Is the pandemic over - did I miss something? Or does it not matter if you're under 40 or on the side of doing the right thing?

Colston's statue is a 19th century creation - he was an embarrassment to the people of his own time, much like Cecil Rhodes and says more about the culture of that time, than these people and what they did or didn't do, just as our toppling says much about us now. I'm going to sound like a right wing racist in all of this, but I'm not - just left wondering - whose lockdown? Whose history? Whose culture? Whose education? Whose art? Whose communities are 'we' protecting if the police are abolished? Who decides? Have we even forgotten what lockdown was about or for? Who do we really care about right now? And yes, I would do and say the same about those dashing off to the beach and other scenic outings, even about those desperate to start retail therapy again, like it's all gone away because the government is easing lockdown measures a bid to try and kickstart the economy again..

Black Lives truly do matter and so does justice, but what about elders, the vulnerable, those sick with COVID-19 and those recovering? Many of whom are brown or... black...

Give this a watch - one of the few debates where the audience comments and questions are as interesting, perhaps even more interesting than the panel discussion

Tho I don't approve of the means or the actions, listening to this has happened me to understand more. I didn't understand enough, I thought I did, I was ignorant; a life is a life is a life. This is history tho - but whose? and to what end?


https://soundcloud.com/blackberea/episode-62-racism-riots

1 view0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page